Introduction
The Simmons Digital Archive consists of items from the long history of Simmons College of Kentucky, from its founding as the Kentucky Normal and Theological Institute in 1979 until the present.
Simmons had undergone several name changes, including:
- Kentucky Normal and Theological Institute (1879 - 1882)
- State University (1882 - 1920)
- Simmons University (1920 - 1982)
- Note: In 1930, Simmons University was purchased by the University of Louisville and operated as Louisville Municipal College for African American students until 1951. The municipal college closed in 1951 when the University of Louisville began to admit African American students.
- Simmons Bible College (1982 - 2007)
- Simmons College of Kentucky (2007 - Present)
Browse the Collections
|
Simmonola was the name of the early yearbooks published between the 1910's and 1930. |
Historical photographs of Simmons faculty, staff, students, and campus buildings. |
Publications related to the history of Simmons and African American life in Louisville. |
Academic catalogs containing course & degree offerings, faculty & staff directories, and academic policies. |
Other Archives with Simmons Paraphernalia
- University of Louisville Digital Collections - Simmons University CollectionA collection of digital images, catalogs, yearbooks, and miscellaneous items related to Simmons University (now Simmons College of Kentucky). The collection has been partially digitized with many more items in the Special Collections.
- Simmons Photograph Collection - Filson Historical SocietyA collection of 21 photos of construction of the historic Simmons campus at 1018 South 7th St.
Hours & Contact
Monday-Friday: 9:00am – 5:00pm
Closed on weekends
(502) 776-1443 ext. 5117
1000 S. 4th St. Louisville, KY 40203
(2nd Floor of Admin & Library Building)
Get Walking Directions From Main Campus
We're on Social Media
