Search For Books
NOTE: Most books are cataloged in the African Americans in Kentucky Collection and kept on permanent display.
You can search the library catalog for books (both print books and ebooks) or if you visit the library, you can browse the shelves. Look for these call numbers to find books related to African-American studies and the scholarly and cultural contributions of African-Americans.
- E185 African-American History
- E185.93.K3 African Americans in Kentucky History
- F446-460 Kentucky History
Books on African American Life in Kentucky
Loading ...
Writing Assistance
Do you need help with academic writing, formatting your paper, or citing your sources in APA or other citation styles? Check out the Online Writing Center!
Find Articles
Websites on African-American Life in Kentucky
- African Americans in Kentucky Historical Collections & Repositories A list of state and local collections of primary sources of Kentucky African American life, history, and thought.
- Documenting the American South Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
- Kentucky African American Heritage Commission The Kentucky Heritage Council and Kentucky African American Heritage Commission are dedicated to preserving buildings and places important to the history of African Americans. Kentucky has an array of sites that tell the story of slavery, the Underground Railroad, Civil War, education and civil rights, and a historically Black college is leading research efforts
- Kentucky Digital Library KDL collections relate to Kentucky history and culture and have a broad appeal on geographic, content and study levels. Featured materials are not widely available and are often unique. Kentucky archivists and librarians add collections based on their evaluation of the materials' appeal and appropriateness.
- Kentucky Historical Society The Kentucky Historical Society was originally established in 1836 as a private organization. It is an agency of the Kentucky state government that records and preserves important historical documents, buildings, and artifacts of Kentucky's past.
- Kentucky U.S. Colored Troops Project A database of roughly 11,000 Black Civil War soldiers from Kentucky, includes biographical information and information about their enslavers (if applicable).
- Lexington Public Library Local History Index The selective citations included in the Lexington Public Library’s Local History index appeared in various Lexington newspapers beginning with the Kentucky Gazette in 1787 through the Lexington Herald-Leader of December 31, 2007. The nucleus of the database index is a card file in the Kentucky Room developed by staff over a number of years. Not all newspapers for all years are indexed. We are currently involved in an effort to selectively index back issues of the Lexington Leader, thus new citations frequently appear.
- Notable Kentucky African Americans Database There are more notable African Americans with Kentucky roots and ties than any one person knows about. Very little has been written about many of them and it is a challenge to find what was written in the past. For some, their stories have only been told by word of mouth. The Notable Kentucky African Americans Database (NKAA) has been developed as a finding aid to bring together a brief description of pertinent names, places, and events, and to list the sources where additional information may be found.
- The Reckoning: Facing the Legacy of Slavery in America The Reckoning is a public radio and podcast series which traces the history and lasting impact of slavery in America by looking at how the institution unfolded in Kentucky.
Hours & Contact
Monday-Friday: 9:00am – 5:00pm
Closed on weekends
(502) 776-1443 ext. 5117
1000 S. 4th St. Louisville, KY 40203
(2nd Floor of Admin & Library Building)
Get Walking Directions From Main Campus
We're on Social Media
